The VPA Principal of the Year Awards

Ticket Information for the 2014 VPA Principal of the Year Awards Dinner & Ceremony

Cost:                   $39.50 per ticket

Location:          Vermont Leadership Academy (August 5-7, 2014)

                           Killington Grand Hotel & Resort

                           4763 Killington Road, Killington, VT


Date/Time:          August 5, 2014
                             6:00PM      reception

                             6:30PM      Dinner and Program


One award is given in each category each year. Nominations are welcome from VPA members, colleagues, school board members, superintendents or the general public. The VPA Awards Committee made up of the VPA ExecutiveNASSP Council, the previous year's award winners and VPAstaff review all nominations and applications.

 VPA  state leadership awards:

  • Robert F. Pierce Award, Vermont Secondary Principal-of-the-Year.

  • Henry Giauque Memorial Award, Vermont Elementary Principal-of-the-Year.

  • Vermont Technical Director-of-the-Year.

 National Awards

  • MetLife/NASSP Secondary Principal’s Award sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals

  • MetLife/NASSP and John Winton National Middle Level Principal Award

  • National Distinguished Principal Award sponsored by the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)
  • Virco/NASSP Assistant Principal of the Year

The Awards Process- 

  • Nominations forms must be submitted to the VPA by March 1. Complete and submit the nomination form. Nominations may be submitted by the nominee themselves, a nominee’s colleague, or the general public

  • The Selection committee will consist of the VPA Executive Council, previous year award winners and VPA staff

  • The committee reserves the right to seek a second round of nominations if sufficient applications are not submitted in the initial round.                                                   
  • Nominees selected for national awards will be notified by the committee and asked to complete and submit the complete national application form.

  • Questions about the award can be addressed to Ken Page, VPA Executive Director at mailto:kpage@vpaonline.org

                                                                  2014 Principals of the Year Awards
                               Dinner & Ceremony August 5th, 2014 at the Killington Grand Hotel & Resort

Vermont NAESP Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year: Georgie Andrews,  St. Albans City School.

NASSP and Virco Assistant Principal of the Year: Steve Cone, Riverside Middle School

NAESP National Distinguished Principal of the Year: William Anton, Dover Elementary School.

Henry R. Giaguque Vermont Elementary Principal of the Year: Rosemary FitzSimons, Wardsboro Elementary School

NASSP MetLife High School Principal of the Year: Bill Olsen, Rutland High School.

NASSP MetLife Middle Level Principal of the Year & the Robert F. Pierce Vermont Secondary Principal of theYear: Ryan Parkman, Northfield Middle/High School.

Vermont Technical Director of the Year: Dean Stearns, River Bend Career and Technical Center

                                          2014 School Leader Nomination Forms and Criteria

PURPOSE: VPA Leadership awards recognize the vital role played by VPA members across Vermont. We honor the devotion, commitment and expertise of these leaders. They serve as our representatives throughout Vermont and with our congressional delegation in Washington. 

(Special note: school leaders must be a current member of the Vermont Principals' Association in order to qualify for an award)